Making Turkey Sausage

I have re-entered the laboratory(my kitchen). I have wanted to try this recipe for a long time but always got distracted. Several years ago my husband and I chose to stop eating pork, beef or chicken. Turkey and fish are our meats of choice. I like turkey sausage but you can’t always find a brand that doesn’t taste dry.  Since my husband’s illness we have been on a low sodium eating regimen.There is always the cost to consider. I searched online and found a recipe submitted by Bonnita Wirth.  So here is my experimentation with her recipe.

I did not add chicken broth because I don’t eat chicken. I used olive oil instead. I must say that may not have been a good idea because the salt taste was nonexistent. I suspect Ms. Wirth relied on the broth to add salt.The lean turkey was a little dry that is why I added olive oil.I was very happy with the seasonings.

Ms Wirth’s recipe.

120151026_090130 pound lean ground turkey breast

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 to 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (to taste)

1 minced clove fresh garlic or 1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp coriander and/or Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning

(sea salt, mustard seed, black peppercorns, coriander, onion, garlic paprika, chili pepper)

1/4 tsp black pepper, freshly ground20151026_090134

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp basil

1/2 c chicken broth and other wet ingredients

Add chicken broth and/or other wet ingredients, mixing well.

Let stand 15 to 20 minutes.

Form turkey into 6 to 8 patties, approximately 3/4 inch thick20151026_091752

Cook patties thoroughly on a nonstick surface
20151026_091741

When I repeat the experiment this is what I plan to do.

Replace the chicken broth with either vegetable broth or turkey broth.

Use 85% lean instead of 95% lean ground turkey.

I will try it again. If I am successful then I will try her Italian sausage seasoning. My husband said it sounded like I was going to have a sausage factory.

P.S. To the sausage that I did not cook, I added salt and cooked it the next day. Flavor-wise there was a tremendous taste difference. I will try this again. I like being able to avoid paying for packaging. My next experiment will be using turkey that I ground myself. Gobble, gobble.

One thought on “Making Turkey Sausage

Leave a Reply

